top of page
the rio review logo.png

Abbott Declares State of Disaster for Hidalgo, Cameron and other South Texas Areas

Following county disaster declarations submitted to the state, Gov. Greg Abbott this afternoon declared a state of emergency for Hidalgo, Cameron, Aransas, Nueces, San Patricio and Willacy counties.

In the declaration, Abbott certified that the severe weather and flooding event that began on June 19 and that continues, has caused widespread and severe property damage and threatens loss of life.

“Therefore, in accordance with the authority vested in me by Section 418.014 of the Texas Government Code, I do hereby declare a state of disaster in the previously listed counties,” the declaration reads. “Pursuant to Section 418.017 of the code, I authorize the use of all available resources of state government and of political subdivisions that are reasonably necessary to cope with this disaster.”

County Judge Ramon Garcia issued the state of emergency declaration for Hidalgo County Wednesday morning.

PHOTO of Flooding in McAllen Texas posted on social media


Sign Up for Free Email Updates

bottom of page