top of page
the rio review logo.png

San Isidro High School Student Recognized as One of The RGV's Youth of the Year

On Thursday, May 30, 2019, Border Patrol agents from the Rio Grande Valley Sector Headquarters recognized the importance of higher education and awarded this year’s Youth of the Year recipients at a ceremony held at the Pharr Events Center in Pharr, Texas. Among the students recognized was San Isidro High School student, Catherine Perez.

The Mayor of the City of Pharr, Dr. Ambrosio Hernandez, matched the Border Patrol’s scholarship donation of $15,000.00, making this year’s scholarship ceremony a record with over $30,000.00 awarded to the students. Rio Grande Valley Sector Border Patrol presented seniors from 10 high schools with the prestigious Youth of the Year Scholarship.

For the last nine years, the Rio Grande Valley Sector Border Patrol has proudly recognized outstanding high school seniors for their excellent academic achievements and significant community service.

The Honorable Dr. Ambrosio Hernandez was the keynote speaker for the event. Dr. Hernandez congratulated the students on their outstanding academic achievements, service to community, and delivered an inspirational message to the students – “We should never forget the sacrifices made by parents every morning across the Rio Grande Valley. It is easy to overlook the lack of sleep some parents experience as they wake up early to ensure their children are ready for school, or when they stay up late to make sure they complete their assignments. The same parents that once grabbed their little ones hands to start their first day of school are the same that woke them up today to make sure they were on time to this ceremony. Now, they are all grown up. The recipients being recognized are our future and I work for them. I, along with the City of Pharr, promise them and their parents that we will work as hard as they do towards a bright future.” “There are so many different emotions pulling on families as they prepare for college and the expenses associated with going off to school. This scholarship provides a small relief to students to jump start their educational endeavors and we are proud to work with community partners who continually invest in students alongside the Border Patrol,” said Communications Director Irma Chapa. This year, the students were awarded with a $3,000.00 scholarship, a proclamation from U.S. Senators John Cornyn and Ted Cruz, a gift card from Top Golf and a gift bag from the RGV Partnership. Other Youth of the Year Recipients were:

  • Ariel R. Garcia, San Benito High School

  • Melissa Lugo, PSJA Early College High School

  • Jonathan Sherchand, Donna North High School

  • Victoria Mena, Weslaco East High School

  • Astrid Villarreal, The Science Academy of South Texas

  • Joshua Loya, La Joya Early College High School

  • Oscar Eliceo Hernandez, Lopez Early College High School

  • Will Scogin, Lyford High School

  • David Silva, Edinburg High School


Rio Grande Valley Wedding Photography


Sign Up for Free Email Updates

bottom of page