top of page
the rio review logo.png

Faculty Honored at UTRGV Excellence Awards

By Vicky Brito

RIO GRANDE VALLEY, TEXAS – The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley honored more than 50 faculty members during its annual Faculty Excellence Awards, held Thursday, May 3, in Brownsville. Seven major awards were given for outstanding achievement in tenured/tenure-track teaching, non-tenured teaching, research, service, student mentoring, community engaged scholarship, and sustainability education.

  • Bin Wang, professor, Information Systems.

  • Excellence in Teaching (Tenured/Tenure-Track).

  • Bonnie Gunn, lecturer II, Biology.

  • Excellence in Teaching (Non-Tenure Track).

  • Yuanbing Mao, associate professor, Chemistry.

Excellence in Research.

  • Maria Elena Corbeil, associate professor, Teaching and Learning.

  • Excellence in Service.

  • Karen Martirosyan, professor, Physics and Astronomy.

  • Excellence in Student Mentoring.

  • Teresa Patricia Feria Arroyo, associate professor, Biology.

  • Excellence in Community Engaged Scholarship.

  • Amy Hay, associate professor, History.

Excellence in Sustainability Education In addition, Dr. Fred Zaidan, chair of the UTRGV Department of Biology, represented his department in accepting the Excellence Award in Faculty Mentoring.

The awards and recognition ceremony was held in the TSC Arts Center theater, where the audience watched individual videos of the seven winners.

The ceremony was followed by a lunch reception in the lobby of the Arts Center. Additionally, UTRGV recognized more than 50 faculty members for their accomplishments in 2017 in the areas of external awards and honors, book authorship, and major grant recipients.


Sign Up for Free Email Updates

bottom of page